Manual Licensing FAQs

TManual Activation FAQ

Why can’t I manually activate PlanSwift using my customer # and pin #?

Answer: It is not the most secure activation method. Beginning in May 2022, all activations will require users to have a registered email and password. PlanSwift versions 10.1 and older will only be able to activate and deactivate using the manual activation methods and that will only last until the end of September 2022. As of October 1, 2022, PlanSwift 10.1 and previous versions will be sunset and will no longer work or be supported.

Why is it important for each user to register their own email and password in order to manually activate PlanSwift?

Answer: It is the most secure method for license and user management. If a user in an organization quits, leaves, or is fired the company can disable or delete that user from the account. With a customer # and pin # that user would still be able to activate PlanSwift even after they had been terminated. The only remedy was to change the pin # for all users in the organization. In addition to keeping the licenses owned by the company more secure, company admins can see which users are activating PlanSwift on which work stations and they can better monitor license usage user by user. Sometimes a user may be unintentionally activating on more work stations than they can use. In My Account, admins can monitor users, generate reports, help users reset passwords, and invite new users to access the company licenses. An organization can have more registered users than purchased licenses because PlanSwift allows licenses to be shared until they are all used. Licenses are not assigned to specific users so register as many users as you will need to access licenses and share the licenses as needed.

Why is manual deactivation necessary?

Answer: For releasing a license from a work station before the reactivation window expires. When manually activating, a license will be added to a work station for 30 days by default. After 30 days, that license can be activated again on that machine or activated on another machine. If the license needs to be used on different machines or shared between users more frequently than 30 days, manual deactivation is necessary for license management. We strongly recommend you upgrade to newer versions of PlanSwift if sharing licenses is something you do often.

After 30 days, if I don't activate again, can the license be used by someone else?

Answer: Yes. PlanSwift licenses use a term called seats. If an account has 5 licenses then there are 5 seats available to be activated at any time. After the 30 day activation period, the seat is made available to anyone in the organization to take.

What happens if I generate a successful code on the website, but I get an invalid code error in the application?

Answer:  Try the manual activation process again. It is possible that the wrong version was selected on the website, but still generated a successful code that just won’t work on the version that is installed. As long as you are using the same Computer ID and same email address, you can generate more codes until you get it right. You may also need to contact technical support for more help. Call 1-888-752-6794 ext 2 or email us at pssupport@constructconnect.com

Manual Activation is too difficult, is there an easier solution?

Answer: Yes. Upgrade to PlanSwift 10.2 or newer. If you need help with renewing your maintenance or upgrading to the latest version please contact us. Call 1-888-752-6794 ext 3 or email us at maintenance@constructconnect.com